SAN ANTONIO, TX – Following last week’s FBA annual meeting, hosted by the Valero Alamo Bowl, the bowl organization announced changes to its Executive Committee structure.

         Famous Idaho Potato Bowl executive director Kevin McDonald is the new chairman, taking over for 2016-17 chairman Bernie Olivas, executive director of the Hyundai Sun Bowl.

         “Kevin has served previously on our Executive Committee, and will head up a significant number of initiatives which the FBA will undertake in 2017-18,” said FBA executive director Wright Waters.  “At the same time, I want to thank Bernie for all of his hard work and many contributions this past year.  He did an outstanding job for all of us.”

         Waters added that Missy Setters, Independence Bowl executive director, will join the Executive Committee in the secretary role and Mike Nealy, executive director of the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl & Motel 6 Cactus Bowl, comes on board as treasurer.  

         Olivas joins a group of past chairmen which includes Eric Poms, CEO of the Capital One Orange Bowl; Steve Hogan, CEO of the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl & Camping World Bowl; and Paul Hoolahan, CEO of the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

         David Fletcher, executive director of the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl, moves to the vice chairman position.  ESPN senior vice president/ college sports programming Pete Derzis will continue in his role as the at-large committee representative.

         Scott Ramsey, Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl President/CEO, concludes his term on the Executive Committee.

         Waters also announced one change to the FBA constitution.  The provision that only bowls with FBS vs. FBS opponents could be members has been eliminated.  Going forward, a bowl with two Division I opponents may now apply for FBA membership.

         One current example is the Celebration Bowl, played in Atlanta and matching champions of the SWAC and MEAC.

         The 2018-19 annual meeting is set for April 17-19, 2018 in Boise, ID.