Blog Post FBA


IRVING, Texas (July 13, 2017) – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will host the 13th Annual National Hall of Fame Salute on Monday, Jan. 1, 2018. The event, which will take place at the new Mercedes-Benz Stadium and just steps from the College Football Hall of Fame in the heart of Atlanta, will utilize the Bowl to showcase the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class. The game will be nationally telecast on ESPN beginning at 12:30 p.m. ET.

Prior to the game, a multi-day celebration for the inductees will take place in Atlanta, including several unique events and a special public ceremony at the College Football Hall of Fame where the inductees will see their legendary accomplishments permanently immortalized for the first time.

“The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl has established itself as one of the premier events in all of college football, and we are proud to partner with them in shining a light on the 2017 Hall of Fame Class,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “Taking place just steps from the Hall, the game provides a powerful venue for showcasing what it means to be a Hall of Famer. It will allow the inductees to visit the Hall while creating a momentous conclusion for each inductee before we announce the next class before the College Football Playoff National Championship.”

The event will mark the third time the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl has hosted the event, and this season’s game will feature two of the top-ranked teams in the country as selected by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee.

“Atlanta is the epicenter of college football,” Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Chairman Percy Vaughn said. “There is no better place to formally welcome these 13 legends of the game to their new permanent home in the College Football Hall of Fame.”

“As one of the founding partners of the Hall, we are honored to recognize these inductees at our game. This year’s Salute will be especially powerful with the backdrop of our Bowl’s 50th Anniversary and our move into the new Mercedes-Benz Stadium,” said Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl president and CEO.

The 13th Annual National Hall of Fame Salute at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will highlight the outstanding careers of 10 All-America players and three legendary coaches who established themselves among the greatest to ever set foot on the college gridiron. The group (listed below) was announced on Jan. 9, and they will formally be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame during the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 5 at the New York Hilton Midtown. They will also be honored on the field at their respective schools throughout the season on various dates during the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, presented by Fidelity Investments.

“Our Hall of Fame experience is like no other as the members of each class are honored multiple times throughout the year,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning. “And we are very excited to be able to bring the class together one last time at the National Hall of Fame Salute in such close proximity to the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. We want to extend a big thanks to Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Chairman Percy Vaughn and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl President & CEO Gary Stokan for making this happen. They have been passionate supporters of the Hall for many years, and celebrating the newest Hall of Fame class on the field at the game will be a thrill for both the fans and the inductees.”

Two of the three coaches in the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class led their teams to appearances in the Peach Bowl. Danny Ford led the Clemson Tigers to the 1979 Peach Bowl, and Steve Spurrier guided the South Carolina Gamecocks to the 2010 Chick-fil-A Bowl. Both coaches are members of the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl of Fame, and they were inducted together in 2016.



·        BOB CRABLE – LB, Notre Dame (1978-81)

·        MARSHALL FAULK – RB, San Diego State (1991-93)

·        KIRK GIBSON – WR, Michigan State (1975-78)

·        MATT LEINART – QB, Southern California (2003-05)

·        PEYTON MANNING – QB, Tennessee (1994-97)

·        BOB McKAY – OT, Texas (1968-69)

·        DAT NGUYEN – LB, Texas A&M (1995-98)

·        ADRIAN PETERSON – RB, Georgia Southern (1998-2001)

·        MIKE RUTH – NG, Boston College (1982-85)

·        BRIAN URLACHER – DB, New Mexico (1996-99)



·        DANNY FORD – 122-59-5 (66.9%); Clemson (1978-89), Arkansas (1993-97)

·        LARRY KEHRES – 332-24-3 (92.9%); Mount Union (Ohio) (1986-2012)

·        STEVE SPURRIER – 228-89-2 (71.8%); Duke (1987-89), Florida (1990-2001), South Carolina (2005-15)